12 years ago

9-11 - sporadic

There are some days that are always etched into your mind. There are those days that you remember where you were, who you were with, and what you were doing. You remember every detail of that specific day like it was yesterday. This day, 12 years ago, is one of those days.

I remember being at college. A bunch of us stayed in one room the night before and we were awoke by a phone call from another friend telling us that a plane just hit the first tower. We turned on the news only in time to see the second plane hit. The feelings of sadness, of being scared (what will happen next), and the fear of the unknown all were very strong. I tried to call home but because everyone was trying to use their cell phones, it was difficult. Once I was able to get a hold of my mom, I told her I wanted to come home for the day. (classes were cancelled)  She said that it was safer for me to be at college then to be on the road at this point and she would keep me updated when she could. So for the rest of the day we all sat together, watching the news and praying.
I will never forget the almost 3000 people who lost their lives on this day.
I will never forget the first responders who risked their lives on this day.
I will never forget those who were called to duty to protect us on this day.
I will never forget those who lost their lives protecting us for the next 12 years because of this day.
I will never forget those husbands, wives, mothers, fathers, children, sisters, brothers, nieces and nephews who grieve because of this day.
I will never forget this day or the emotions that it brings.

After that horrific day in 2001, the United States was once again united but it bothers me that I think we get so busy in our own lives that we forget who we are as a country. This isn’t about whether you are a democrat or republican. This isn’t about whether you agree with the way things are done in DC. This is about being united as a country and being proud of where you live. Be proud of the fact that you are free to do what you want. Be proud of all the military men and women who serve to keep this great nation free.  And as you continue your day tomorrow, remember that just because it’s 9/12/2013 that doesn’t mean you forget….Never Forget!

Leave a Reply

