I wear a pink/blue ribbon

Pink_and_blue_ribbon

 

I’ve been working on this post for awhile now. It takes me back to a place I was almost 2 years ago. It makes me sad and sometimes I just have to walk away from the blog. So as long as it’s posted then I guess I finally got through it and that makes me strong.

I wear a pink and blue ribbon for Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness in October.

It began back on October of 1988 with former President Ronald Reagan.  This is a time to be aware that 1 in 4 mothers lose a child, whether it be to miscarriage, SIDS, stillbirth, ectopic pregnancy, or death of a newborn. Although it lasts all month, the official day is October 15 of each and every year.

There are about 6 million pregnancies annually in the US alone! Because of the 1 in 4 statistic only about 4 million live births happen. Almost half the time the cause is unknown to why that mother loses her child.

 

I wear pink/blue ribbon for every mother who has had a miscarriage.
I wear pink/blue ribbon for every mother who has endured an ectopic pregnancy.
I wear pink/blue ribbon for every mother who has had to deliver her child even though she knew it was going to be a still birth.
I wear pink/blue ribbon for every mother who had endured a SIDS death.
I wear pink/blue ribbon for every mother who has had to bury her infant.
I wear pink/blue ribbon for me.

I am that 1 in 4. I am the face of an ectopic pregnancy. I am an angel and rainbow baby mommy. I am a survivor. I grieve. I cherish. I hope. I pray.  I wear pink and blue for you!

4 thoughts on “I wear a pink/blue ribbon

Leave a Reply

