Count Your Blessings

Disclaimer: Before going any further, please understand this is a personal vent. If you feel that you do not want to go any further, no hard feelings. If you end up reading the whole vent, I thank you for reading this.
You have been warned! 

“To hell with my pride, let it fall like rain
From my eyes, Tonight I wanna cry”
      -Keith Urban
                          “Tonight I wanna cry”

  

That pretty much sums up my night tonight. It’s been over a month since I’ve seen my husband for more than 50 mins during the week and a few hours on the weekends. I am so thankful that he is working and has a job (and one that allows me to be able to stay home and have daycare littles here) but I miss him. I miss being able to have his arms around me when I need him the most. I miss seeing his face, his smile. I miss hearing him tell me that everything will be okay. I miss having more than a 30 min conversation with him. (we text throughout the evening but it’s not the same!). I want to have a semi “normal” relationship with my husband. I love him having the ability to be off work during the summer months but these outages SUCK! It’s been almost 8 years since we started this routine in his career and even though I know what to expect it doesn’t make it any easier.

I am so tired of hearing…

“I don’t know how you do it, I could never be away from my husband for that long”
“How do you go that long without talking to him?”
“I would never do (insert a “man chore” (around the house).  I would leave it for him to come home”

It gets old! I do it because I support his career. I am very proud of how far he has come. I do it because he values my career dream of staying home (with our babygirl) If I don’t do something that needs to get done around the house IT WONT GET DONE! I am not one that likes to ask for help (unless I really need it) so yes, I bring in the wood for the wood burner (all by myself!). Yes, I walk the trash bin to the street (all by myself!). Yes, I take care of everything that goes with having a home (all by myself! Of course, there are some exceptions but those come few and far between).

I keep my house clean. I have littles running around the house during the day. I go to the gym when I can get there. I run errands. I do it all. I take care of our princess. I take care of our dog.

This is my life and I enjoy it. That doesn’t mean I love every minute of it but damn it I LOVE my life and wouldn’t change it for the world. I just wish some people would realize how good they have it, learn to count their blessings, and be thankful for what they have in their life instead of wondering how I function in my life. Because if you must know I function pretty damn good.

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

3 thoughts on “Count Your Blessings

  1. You’re doing much better than I did! My husband was working in another state for 6 months and all we did was text in the afternoon. I was a complete mess and I barely made it through. So I think you’re very strong, keep your head up!

  2. Amen! Just because your life isn’t what someone else thinks it should be doesn’t mean it’s not what you want it to be. I face this a lot with my husband joining the military. People have said he is selfish, but it was our decision, and I’m happy we made it. Don’t let others get you down.

Leave a Reply

