Heros Of The City Giveaway

I was given the opportunity to review “Heros of the City” Kit. I was very excited because I currently have three boys in the daycare program who love anything with wheels! (What 3 year old boy doesn’t though?) The kit contained a DVD (which has 5 short movies on it), a book called “The Hot Air Balloon”, a sticker book (with TONS of stickers) and a small (matchbox size) firetruck and train. The firetruck and train are characters in the movie, and book.

100_5044

I incorporated this kit into my weekly lesson plan curriculum. During this week we talked about Heros.
-What is a hero?
-Who is your hero?
-Different types of heros

On the specific day day that I used the kit our day consisted of:

-Free Play: The children used the firetruck and train in the block area. They built a town and drove around looking to help people. The children really enjoyed playing with the toys. The toys do have small parts so if you have children under the age of around 2 or 3 I would really watch them around the toys.
-Circle Time: We read the book “The Hot Air Balloon”. I found this book to be more age appropriate for maybe a 6 or 7 year old just by the way it was written. I was finding myself shortening pages or sentences to keep the children’s attention. (The boys are 3 and 4) I am also a big advocate for introducing new words into a child’s vocabulary but this book seemed to have more words that my littles would not understand then one that I would personally pick out for them. One example of this would be that word “harbor”; around where my littles live the may never see a harbor. I also found that reading the book my littles were losing interest. I will not ruin the story for anyone who wants to purchase the kit but the cliff notes of this book is that a crow ends up getting his foot tangled in the ropes of a hot air balloon and needs help getting free. As far as rating the book for my personal littles, I would say it was a 3.5 out of 5. Illustrations were very bright, kid friendly and nicely done. I would use this book more for a read on your own quiet activity for my littles.

The DVD is a 3D animated series about rescue vehicles. On Volume One, there are 5 short shows.
1. The Movie Makers
2. Cara and the Mini Circus
3. The Ghost Car
4. The Race
5. Wacky Wayne Comes to Town

I do not have many days where the children get to watch TV but on a special day I put the movie in. I found it to be a cute short show. The animation was bright with lots of movement. The characters were fun and taught about friendships.

 

There are also apps available: ( I did not review them because I do not let the littles play electronic games/apps at my home)
AppStore:
https://itunes.apple.com/app/heroes-of-the-city-movie-app/id602592310
GooglePlay:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rutaett.HeroesMovie&hl=en

Now for the fun stuff! Would you like to win a kit for the little one in your life?
Click on the link below to win your very own Heros of the City kit!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: I was given this kit to review for free. All opinions are my own and were not influenced by anyone including the company I am doing a review for.

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

Leave a Reply

