A Business or Just Babysitting?

Home Daycare Provider. What is the first thing that comes to mind? Ready go….!

When most people hear those words, they think of “babysitter” or “children just watch tv all day”. This is the part that I say not always the case! Of course there are those that allow children to do that all day long or are just a babysitter. When it comes to my business, things are completely different. I am state licensed and I run it similar to a preschool setting. Of course I have a mixed age group of children. I am allowed to have only 6 children at one time. I have lesson plans. I deal with educational standards. I attend trainings that range in topic from making my business better to education. I have a schedule for the children. We read. We talk do calendar. We have projects. I do child initiated learning. At most during one given day is about 20 mins of TV time and that is only when I’m cooking lunch but on most days they are finishing cleaning up and getting ready for lunch so we don’t have TV time.

There are a lot of reasons I run my business the way I do. I feel as though because I am with the children for usually 8 hours a day/5 days a week, I need to be the best role model I can be. I feel as though it’s my duty to help prepare them for the next step (preschool). I feel as though it’s my duty to provide a home like, loving place they are comfortable in, feel safe but yet know that there are “rules”. I feel it’s my duty to provide a rich learning environment but also give them the chance for free play.

found via pinterest

found via pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

