Potty Training…When is it time?

There are so many different opinions when it comes to raising children. Everyone (and their brother) feels the need to tell you how and when you should do things when it comes to raising your child. I will admit, I have judged and mentally asked myself…”Why are you doing it this way?” but I try to keep my thoughts to myself because I know that I don’t like unwanted advice when it comes to my daughter. 

Found Via Pinterest

So now that she is a “big girl” now – it’s time to think about the transition to potty training. (If it goes as easy as getting rid of the bottle…life will be a piece of cake!) If you would ask “When is it time to start?”, you will get an array of different answers. Some that you may have heard or have said are ~
-When he/she is 2.
-When she/he shows an interest.
-When you want, you are the adult and he/she is the child.
-When he/she starts taking off the diaper.

Those are just some, I am sure that you are able to think of about 500 more different ones you have heard! LOL


As a first time parent but a person who has been working with children for the last 14 or so years, I’ve seen many different ways to potty train but I have taken my own approach. We started when she was about 18 months (or so) by just sitting Baby P on the potty for about 20 secs (we would count out loud which also was teaching her one to one corresponding) on bath nights. Nothing progressed through there. This was telling me she was not ready. I didn’t push the issue because I have found when you push the child for potty training, they will more then likely regress later on and the accidents start happening and they happen more frequently.

Then we had a breakthrough! August 10, 2015 Baby P said “mommy potty” so I took her into sit on her Minnie Mouse potty and she wanted to read books. After reading…and reading…and more reading and sitting on the potty for a good 10 mins, she said “mommy I did it!!!” and was so excited. We made a HUGE deal about it. She was so proud! After that day, she tells me when she wants to go and sit and since then we have went pee quite a few times on her potty and she has gone #2 twice, which is always the hardest for children to do!


It’s all self initiated. Some may say I am giving her to much control of the situation. My thoughts are if she figures out when it’s time to go potty all by herself, then I am doing my job and teaching her. I believe that we put to much pressure on our children to grow up to fast. Just let them be little! We have not done any rewards except the first time she went. It’s all about the positive reinforcement, and the excitement that is shown BUT if you are ready for your child to be potty trained and you want to control the situation…I’ve got a TON of suggestions, and ideas that I’ve seen work.

2 thoughts on “Potty Training…When is it time?

  1. I am all for people giving advice, when it is asked for, or if you were to say, “we are trying to potty train X and we are just stuck with it” then I would be happy to accept suggestions for things I should try.
    The thing that most annoys me about unsolicited advise is when people are really pushy and say their way is the ONLY way to do something. Ugh. All children are different. What works for one will not work for the other. My eldest niece potty trained really easily, they started trying recently with their other daughter who is just a year younger and she was peeing all over the house, everywhere but the potty. Now after some talk and cajoling and watching others do it she has started to poo on the potty (she has figured out that feeling and what it means), but she still doesn’t wee on it which is backwards from any other child I have met hahaha. I don’t think there is any hard and fast rules that apply to ALL children when raising them, because they are all different and they develop differently and learn differently.

  2. Every child, if they learn at age 1 or age 4, will eventually get the hang of it. I don’t see any adult with diapers on so I would say just don’t hurt your kids confidence by paying it toooo much attention. They’ll get the hang of it soon enough!

Leave a Reply

