Heavy Hearts

Last night I went to bed with a heavy heart. Not because of something that directly effects me or my life but because of the actions of others against innocent people in the world.

Yet again, there was breaking news of a mass shooting in San Bernardino, California where 14 innocent people lost their life and so far 17 others were injured.

It pains me to know that this is the world we are raising our children in. It scares me to know that as innocent as Baby P is right now, that there will be a time that I will have to sit her down and explain that there are bad people in the world and Mommy and Daddy will do anything and everything in our power to keep her safe.

My heart hurts for the victims families that are now grieving.

So as you go about your day, remember tomorrow is never promised. It is not something that should be taken for granted. Hug your loved ones just a little tighter. Make sure you let them know how loved they are and how much you appreciate them.

If you have to use this horrific event as a teaching tool for your children; teach them this lesson (in the words of Mister Fred Rogers) –

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”
– Fred Rogers

 

Leave a Reply

